Travel Restrictions

In order to maintain the highest level of safety for all ISA participating students, ISA has restricted travel to certain areas of the world.

ISA participants are not allowed to enter or travel within the following regions during the participation of an ISA program:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Colombia*
  • Congo-Brazzaville
  • Congo-Kinshasa
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Ethiopia
  • Eritrea
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel*
  • Kenya*
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico*
  • Myanmar*
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines*
  • Russia*
  • Saudi Arabia*
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • The Gaza Strip and West Bank
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey*
  • Ukraine*
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen 

As you may notice, this list is primarily comprised of countries to which there is a reasonable ease of access while participating in an ISA program. The purpose of listing these sites is to provide vital safety information regarding the regions in which participants may consider traveling. This list of restricted countries is continually updated based on ISA direct observation, US Department of State recommendation, Overseas Security Advisory Council, WHO reports, and expert consultation. In addition, ISA may restrict travel to all or part of the following countries based on changing situations and regional events.

All ISA students are made aware of the countries that have travel restrictions when they sign our Code of Conduct which states that they will abide by all travel restrictions established by ISA. Violation of any ISA travel restriction is cause for automatic dismissal from the ISA program, and you will be required to return to the U.S. immediately. ISA reserves the right to add countries/regions to this list, without notice.

*For travel within or to these countries/regions, before finalizing any travel plans, students should submit their travel itinerary to their Resident Director at least two weeks in advance of their intended travel dates. Students may be asked to provide additional information. ISA reserves the right to prohibit travel within or to these countries/regions. Please contact ISA for more information if you are planning to visit any of these countries while participating on an ISA program.


This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some are essential to make our site work; others help us improve the user experience. By using the site, you consent to the placement of these cookies.

Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.